JUNE 2015 FAVORITES

main

Better late than never! I’ve been sticking to the same base makeup for weeks on end, so I can easily say that it’s one of my HG face makeup must-haves. And with my oily skin, I find myself reaching for something other than powder blushes! I’m talking about a CREAM blush that is absolutely beautiful on all skin types, perfect for the summer and hot weather.

Keep on reading to find out what my monthly favorites are for the month of June!

For face makeup, I have been absolutely loving the MAKE UP FOR EVER STEP 1 Skin Equalizer Primer in the Mattifying version. There are several variations on this primer that caters to your skin needs and concerns, such as oil control, moisture and evening out the complexion. I thought that it would be just like the Smashbox PhotoFinish primers, but it totally does not feel like silicone on my skin at all! It’s not that feeling you get from the Smashbox, but it really sinks into the skin and cancels out any type of shine. It works well alone or under anything that you choose to put on top of it.

For foundation, I am still in love with my CHANEL CC Cream in the color 20 Beige. It’s been reformulated and comes in 3 shades, rather than just 2 in the old formula. It’s more moisturizing and offers slightly better coverage. It does have a bit of a thick consistency, but blends out onto the skin beautifully with fingers or a Beauty Blender. I would avoid using brushes, as it can streak and feel a bit heavy. And it has SPF 50! If I need some extra coverage, I’ll use another favorite, which is my MAC Select Cover Up concealer in NC20. I like to buff and blend it in with my e.l.f. Flawless Concealer Brush. It’s the perfect fluffy concealer brush to apply concealer, and it’s affordable as well!

f1

In the cheek department, I like the YSL Les Sahariennes Healthy Glow Balm Powder. It’s a cream-to-powder bronzing product that feels so good going on the skin! I like using it with a Beauty Blender or my Sephora #11 Sheer Complexion brush. It comes with it’s own applicator, but I’d save it for travelling. On top of the YSL bronzer, I am loving the  CHANEL Les Beiges Healthy Glow Sheer Color Stick in #22, which is a beautiful, bright, ripe peach color that’s suitable for all skintones. It blends amazingly well and lasts for quite a while on my oily skin, which even I am surprised at. There are currently 3 colors, and I’ve been told that they are replacing the Le Blush Cremes (cream blushers that were in the compacts). It’s so much easier to throw into a purse and whip it out to apply, and blend with fingers. My only gripe was that the old version came in a compact that had a mirror, so an eye for an eye.

c1 c3c4

Now let’s talk eyes: No eye look of mine would be complete without a good eyeliner, brow and mascara to top it off. Recurring favorites for the brows would be the Givenchy Eyebrow Show in #1 and NARS Brow Gel in Oural. They apply so well and keep my brows looking perfect all the time, and don’t budge no matter what the weather is. Bobbi Brown Gel Eyeliners are always a favorite, and I’m really liking the new color 33 Black Scotch. I’d reach for Caviar, but Black Scotch compliments the eyeshadows so much better. For lashes, I’ve been going drugstore and appreciate how Maybelline’s The Colossal Chaotic Lash made my lashes look. It’s not totally “colossal” as the name implies, and it’s definitely not as crazy, clumpy and messy as the ads advertise. It’s a great volumizing mascara that doesn’t smudge on me (I use the non-waterproof version) and is an intense black. I’d highly recommend!

l1

I have been religiously using the YSL Full Metal Shadows throughout the month of of June. My preferred colors are #6 Pink Cascade, which I take all over the lids, and #7 Aquatic Copper. It’s a rich, glittery copper color that looks polished and glam when applied on the outer thirds of the eyes, and on the lower lashline. I find that it brings just the right amount of warmth to my eyes. The color combination works well with a touch of Laura Mercier’s Caviar Stick Eye Color in Copper right in the center of the lids and center of the bottom lashline. As I use my fingers to blend the YSL shadows in, I like using my M.A.C 217 to blend the Laura Mercier shadow. The look screams summer, warmth and ultra-glam. It would look appropriate for all eye and skin colors.

e1

e2 e3

To wrap it up, I have two fragrance favorites, which are coincidentally both YSL! I love the Parisienne and Black Opium, and it wouldn’t be fair to rate on better than the other – they are both amazing and different in their own right!If you want something fruity, playful and ultimately tropical summer, I would recommend Parisienne, it’s super feminine and light. If you want something more sensual and spicy, check out Black Opium! The only thing with fragrance is that you have to test it out at the store before you buy it, because it smells differently on different people.

Those are my favorites for the month of June! If you’ve tried any of the products above, please let me know how they worked for you! And if you have any questions about them, or want me to do in-depth reviews, or want to recommend a product that you think I’d like, please don’t hesitate to comment down below!

Leave a comment