May 2015 | Beauty Favorites

As an introduction into summer, I’ve really been enjoying products that are more lightweight and non-heavy on the skin. For eye makeup, reaching for more neutral shades with a hint of shimmer and a pop of color is my go-to.

Keep reading for my favorite picks for the month of May!

FACE

IMG_0224

Givenchy Mister Smooth primer ($39) | Chanel Vitalumière Aqua foundation ($47) | Chanel Le Blanc primer ($55) | Cover FX Custom Cover Drops ($44) | Yves Saint Laurent Touche Éclat ($42) | Laura Mercier Translucent Loose Setting Powder ($37) | MAC Select Cover Up ($19)

I enjoy mixing 2-3 drops of my Cover FX Custom Cover Drops (color G20) into my Chanel Vitalumiere Aqua foundation (color B20) and apply a light layer over my face, on top of a small pea sized amount of Givenchy Mister Smooth and Chanel Le Blanc primer. On areas where I need more coverage, such as spots, I use a tiny amount of MAC Select Cover Up (color NC20). To highlight some areas, I apply Yves Saint Laurent Touche Eclat (color 2.5). To blend everything together and for application, I always use my Beauty Blender. I also use the BB with my Laura Mercier loose powder to lightly dust all over my finished base to control oil, smooth pores and to help my makeup last all day and looking flawless.

IMG_0225

IMG_0226

Yves Saint Laurent LES SAHARIENNES Healthy Glow Balm-Powder ($55) | Lancôme Belle de Teint bronzer ($42.50) | Burberry Wet & Dry Silk Eyeshadow ($29) | Hourglass Ambient Lighting Blush ($35)

When I heard that YSL was coming out with a new hybrid gel-powdery textured bronzer, I knew that I had to have it. Anything that has a dry, powdery finish is all good with me, even if the initial application is creamy. That makes it easier to blend out, of course! I use the Healthy Glow Balm-Powder in the color 03 Epice, and apply it as a contour with my Beauty Blender. On days where I want some extra definition, I would go ahead an layer my Lancome Belle de Teint (color 06) over. As blush, I prefer using a pigmented, silky eyeshadow from Burberry (color No.21 Rose Pink). It’s matte, which I really like! The staying power is also excellent, and it does not fade throughout the day on my super oily skin. For added highlight, I would put Hourglass Ambient Lighting Blush (color Diffused Heat) over the Burberry.

EYES

IMG_0227

IMG_0228

Chanel Ombres Contraste Duo ($42) | MICA Beauty Shimmer Powder ($14.95) | Urban Decay eyeshadow ($18) | NARS Single Eyeshadow ($25)

I prefer neutral eyeshadows with an extra hint of a red, olive, or bright orange pop of color with the warm spring/summer seasons. As usual, I like my favorite eyeshadow duo from Chanel (color Taupe Delicat). I would use the lighter cream shade all over the lid and browbone, leaving the smoky taupe shade for my lower lashline. I then go in my Urban Decay’s Lounge eyeshadow on the out corner of the eye. This is a duo-chrome shade that looks a reddish coppery color or a grayish teal color depending on where the light hits the eyes. I like that sort of movement. To finish off the eyeshadow look, I take MICA’s shimmer powder in 17 Bronze and use my finger to pat it directly on the center of my lids. The high intense shine makes it look so summery!

IMG_0231

NARS Smudgeproof Eyeshadow Base  ($25) | NARS Brow Gel ($23) | Chanel Le Volume de Chanel mascara ($30) | Guerlain Cils d’Enfer So Volume! mascara ($30) | Givenchy Eyebrow Show ($26) | MAC PowerPoint Eye Pencil ($16) | Bonne Bell Liquid Eyeliner (price varies) | ELF Studio Small Smudge Brush ($3) | Elizabeth Mott All Over Shadow Brush ($9.99) | Yves Saint Laurent Full Metal Shadow ($30)

As eyeshadow base, I use my all time holy-grail NARS smudgeproof eyeshadow base. Trust me guys, try it – you’ll love it! For added glimmer, I will sometimes even put a layer of YSL’s new full metal shadow in the color Pink Cascade all over the lid. It’s a nice, watery pink color with beautiful reflects. After eyeshadow application with my fingers and the help of Elizabeth Mott’s all over shadow brush, I go in with either a black liquid eyeliner from Bonne Bell for some intensity, or with MAC’s PowerPoint eye pencil in the color Stubborn Brown. It’s a perfect dark brown that can look either natural or sultry, depending on how much you put on. I like to initially line my eyes straight with the pencil, and then smudge it out while adding a small wing with my ELF small smudge brush. For $3, this brush is the bomb! It’s nice and sturdy.

For mascara, I will use my Guerlain So Volume! mascara in Noir on days where I want my eyes to make a statement. Otherwise, I go for Chanel’s Le Volume de Chanel in Khaki Bronze. It’s a unique color, not quite bronze or brown, but somewhere in between with an olive color mixed in. The mascara really adds volume and keeps a curl (I use the non-waterproof version), and the color makes my lashes look very natural.

To polish off the look, I use my beloved powder eyebrow pencil from Givenchy in the color 2 to fill in any sparse areas and shape my brows lightly. I apply NARS brow gel in Oural, which is clear, over the Givenchy pencil and they are set for the whole day. The brows do not look overly drawn, thanks to the nice texture of the Givenchy pencil and brow gel finisher.

* * * * *

I would love to know what items you have constantly been reaching for this month! Let me know in the comments if you have any product recommendations to try out!

Leave a Reply

