March 2015 Favorites

Is it really the end of March already? Time flies! But my love for makeup never ends, so read more after the jump to see what I loved using the most this month.

Yes, I layer three primers for my insanely oily skin! But it does work with these primers. I first apply a thin layer of my holy grail Chanel Le Blanc Light Revealing Brightening Makeup Base ($55), followed by a tiny amount of the Too Faced Primed & Poreless Pure ($30) (which is great for sensitive and oily skin!). Afterwards, I only use a little bit of the Smashbox Photo Finish Pore Minimizing Primer ($39) on areas where I have large, noticeable pores, such as on my T-Zone and cheeks. The result after foundation and powder application is flawless! This technique helps camouflage my pores and controls oil fairly well. So for now, this my priming holy trinity.

My favorite foundation this month has got to be Tarte’s Amazonian Clay Full Coverage Foundation ($38). I am in the shade Light Sand, and it is a perfect match for my light and yellow-undertoned skin. Don’t let the name “full coverage” scare you! It can also be sheered out with a light hand. I really enjoy the Amazonian Clay, which helps to control oil and make the skin appear matte and smooth. I don’t really use concealer unless it’s for something very noticeable, but I never skip on Yves Saint Laurent’s Touche Éclat Radiant Touch ($42) in 2.5 Luminous Vanilla. It just gives the skin such an amazing, lit from within, natural radiance glow, like the name implies! I just apply it on the high points of my face and blend out with my fingers or a Beauty Blender ($19.95).

Of course, to set all of our hard work with evening out the skintone and blending, we cannot forget powder. Unless you can get away without having your makeup get really shiny and oily throughout the day, then lucky you! I prefer powders that are translucent so that they don’t add any extra color on my face. My favorites are the Chanel Poudre Universelle, Natural Finish Loose Powder ($52), MAKE UP FOR EVER HD Powder ($34), and on days when I skip liquid foundation and just want to even out my skintone and add light coverage, I go for my M.A.C Studio Fix Powder Plus Foundation ($27) in C2.

I have naturally pale skin, so I need an extra boost to make sure that I don’t look like a walking zombie everyday. My favorite bronzer and contour product for many months has been the Soleil Tan de Chanel ($48). It has a nice, whipped, mousse-like texture that blends beautifully into the skin. For the cheeks, I prefer the Hourglass Ambient Lighting Blush ($35) in Diffused heat. It just brings out a youthful and natural glow without looking over the top.

In terms of eyeshadow, I haven’t been playing with anything intense. I keep it low key with Chanel’s Ombres Contraste Duo ($42) in 20 Taupe – Délicat. This is a perfect duo for everyday, wearable for work or school. On days where I want to just have a bronze-y look, I add in NARS Duo Eyeshadow ($35) in Surabaya and Burberry’s Wet & Dry Silk Shadow ($29) in 201 Rose Pink.

I cannot live without my NARS Pro-Prime Smudge Proof Eyeshadow Base ($25). It’s the only eye primer that I have found that actually keeps my shadows from creasing on me and my oily eyelids. For brows, I can get away with just grooming them in place with NARS Brow Gel ($23) in Oural. But I like to add a little bit of definition with Givenchy’s Eyebrow Show ($26) in 1 Medium. The powdery texture in pencil form is a dream!

Bobbi Brown’s Long-Wear Gel Eyeliner ($25) in Caviar Ink has made its way back into my makeup bag and daily routine. For a while, I’ve been using liquid eyeliner pens, but they run out quickly. Having a pot of this eyeliner handy gives me insurance that I will never be left without eyeliner. To top off the eyes, I decided to give Guerlain’s Cils d’Enfer ($30) another go. Years back, I’ve been traumatized by the packaging, repeatedly cutting my finger while opening the tube. But alas, I got over my fear and went to purchase another tube, being extremely careful when using it. Not only does the scent of the mascara make me feel happy, but I love the thickness and length it gives my lashes! It doesn’t flake or get clumpy with a few layerings.

The only lip products that I have been using consistently months after months are the Maybelline Lipsmooth Color Bloom and Yves Saint Laurent Glossy Stains ($36). Unfortunately, I can’t seem to find the Maybelline lip balm in the United States. I hauled a bunch of them while I was in Vietnam last summer, and they are my favorite. The one in Peach Blossom adapts to the color of the lips, giving them a nice, coral tint. I like to apply either YSL’s Glossy Stain in 105 Corail Hold Up or 110 Reckless Pink (pictured above). I honestly swear by these Glossy Stains, and would be the only lip products that I would purchase. The staying power and color payoff is incredible, and I’d recommend them to anyone, although they are a bit pricey.

Let me know if you would like a full review on any of these items in the comments!

2 thoughts on “March 2015 Favorites

  1. I really enjoyed reading this post! I don’t know much about different makeup products since I don’t wear them often, but I might just have to try out what you recommended. I really like that Maybelline lip balm too, maybe it’ll come to the US sometime soon!

    Like

  2. I have the smash box photo-ready primer and I love it! I work 12 hour shifts at a restaurant, and my eye-makeup stays in tact the entire time with it! I also have the taste full-coverage foundation. This was recommended to me by a makeup artist to cover my blemishes and I’m happy with the coverage capabilities and it’s sensitive on my skin. Two really good products.

    Like

Leave a Reply

